Razors: Can’t live with them, can’t live without them…

I’ve been grappling with the issue lately of why we consumers buy the razor sets or blades that we do.  How are we making these choices? Why do we choose the brands we do?

So I’m using this space in a different way than usual, and am posting this survey to get reader’s insights into what factors they take into account when they make razor purchases.

Being respectful of your time, the survey only has three questions:

1) What is your primary selection criterion for razor blade purchases?

2) What factors would get you to try a brand of blades you did not normally purchase?

3) Who do you view as the most innovative brand in the razor blade market?

I appreciate your responses to this posting, and assure you will be providing me a great service. (Note: If my international readers would indicate country of origin, that would also be helpful).

Thank you in advance.

Regards, Mark 🙂

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Razors: Can’t live with them, can’t live without them…”

  1. John Ferraro Says:

    Mark,

    My three answers are:
    1. I know what brand works for me so I look for them when they are on sale AND when I have coupons, usually $2 or $3 bucks off…
    2. Free samples so that I could try them with no purchase.
    3. BIC

    How ’bout them Yanks?!?!?!?!

  2. Mom & Dad Says:

    Your dad just bought a Gillette fusion. He said that he bought it because he had a coupon for 3.00 off, and he knows the gillette name.

  3. Rob Theisen Says:

    1) What is your primary selection criterion for razor blade purchases?
    Minimum of three blades. I think this is the mean. Below three blades I don’t feel the shave is as close. Above three blades I don’t really see a significant difference. Branding has some influence but mostly price. I find it hard to believe CVS or Target are manufacturing their own razors.

    2) What factors would get you to try a brand of blades you did not normally purchase?
    Price and number of blades. I won’t buy anything over three because they are way too big and too pricey.

    3) Who do you view as the most innovative brand in the razor blade market?
    Since innovation is the successful implementation of an idea it would be hard to say. I still believe the Gilette Sensor is the best (most innovative) razor. The quality of product still exist, it is copied, its price point is still very high and most times they are out of stock.

  4. Angela May Says:

    Hi Mark, from the ladies side, I like Bic multiple disposable packs (full razor, handle, etc). I would buy another brand if a couple of free razors (or blades) were included in the pack. I wouldn’t redeem a coupon, unless it was on-pack, but I still would likely just purchase the Bic pack that I normally buy because of price, ease, and good results. As far as innovation goes, Gillette probably wins but I typically purchase for price. Good luck with your results!

  5. Greg Coulombe Says:

    1) What is your primary selection criterion for razor blade purchases?

    It has to offer the closest shave possible. The only real way to achieve this is by having a 3 blade razor. (Anything less leaves your face rough and or “pulls” the hair rather than cut it close to your skin). Name brand recognition also plays a key factor. I’m a huge Gillette fan because they have always been a great razor with a fair value.

    2) What factors would get you to try a brand of blades you did not normally purchase?
    Unfortunately…they’d have to be free to have me sway from a brand I love!

    3) Who do you view as the most innovative brand in the razor blade market?
    The most innovative in my opinion would be Gillette, specifically the Mach 3. However, they are expensive but can be purchased in bulk at any of the major wholesale outlet chains. If you place your blade in rubbing alcohol you can even extend the life of each blade which saves tons of money in the long run. Here’s a link for an example;

    http://www.shavingzone.com/2010/01/how-corrosion-makes-your-razor-blades-dull/

Leave a Reply

