Hello world!

Well, I did it… I signed up to start a blog. Hopefully later postings will be more articulate than this one.

In way of introduction, I entered a portion of the marketing arena early in my career. Specifically, having started in marketing in the direct mail and corporate communications field, I obviously have a fond spot in my heart for that “old fashioned” delivery. However during my time working to make the world safe for print, I also saw phototypesetting kill the linotype, the mighty little Apple 2e (http://apple2history.org/history/ah07.html) and then the MacIntosh kill phototype, and then manual stripping, and then scanning and color correction…

For that reason, I developed a healthy respect for emerging technology and communication techniques 25 years ago, a respect that has lasted through today. I hope to use this blog to record for posterity (at least mine) my journey to continue exploring this wonderful and dazzling world of emerging media. At the same time, I also would like to share this knowledge with others and hopefully that will be the case.

Literate marketers who are technology experts would be a wonderful thing. However, because the technology is so easily picked up by younger generation (which I truly envy), there is often more emphasis on executing the technology than executing the marketing. So, for that reason, it will be my goal in this blog to discuss (or try to) classic marketing thinking – human thinking – that should be in sync with using the technology to obtain cool marketing objectives.

As I said at the top, I will get better at this. In the meantime, I will do my best to keep you engaged while that happens.

Regards, Mark

Tags:

One Response to “Hello world!”

  1. Mr WordPress Says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

